News & Events

4th GA Meeting

The Fourth (4th) Meeting of the SMIIC General Assembly (GA) was held in Istanbul, Republic of Turkey on 16-17 April 2013.
The Fourth (4th) Meeting of the SMIIC General Assembly (GA) was held in Istanbul, Republic of Turkey on 16-17 April 2013. SMIIC General Secretariat hosted the Meeting. Following the recitation from the Holy Quran, Mr. Hulusi ŞENTÜRK, the Chairman of Board of Directors (BOD) of SMIIC welcomed the participants to the Meeting.
The opening address was made by Chairman of BOD, Mr. Hulusi Şentürk. It was followed by the message of H.E. Prof. Dr. Ekmeleddin İhsanoğlu, the Secretary General of OIC, which was delivered by the OIC representative Mr. Hasan Oker Gürler. Additionally, Mr. Selçuk Koç-Director of COMCEC, Mr. Mehmet Cömert-Director General, Ministry of Economy of the Republic of Turkey, H.E. Dr. Jawad Naji, Minister of National Economy, State of Palestine and Mr. Mohamadou Bayero Fadil, Vice-Chairman of SMIIC addressed to the General Assembly.
The GA was attended by the representatives of the following Member States who have membership in the SMIIC GA.
1. Islamic Republic of AFGHANISTAN
2. People’s Democratic Republic of ALGERIA
3. Burkina FASO
4. Republic of CAMEROON
5. Arab Republic of EGYPT (Proxy given to SASO, Kingdom of SAUDI ARABIA)
6. Republic of GABON
7. Republic of GUINEA
8. Islamic Republic of IRAN
9. Hashemite Kingdom of JORDAN
11. Republic of MALI
12. State of PALESTINE
13. Islamic Republic of PAKISTAN
14. Kingdom of SAUDI ARABIA (Represented by SASO and SFDA)
15. Republic of SENEGAL
16. Republic of SUDAN
17. Republic of TUNISIA
18. Republic of TURKEY (Represented by TSE and TÜBİTAK-UME)
19. United Arab EMIRATES
Malaysia, Indonesia and Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus were represented as observers in the General Assembly as the Member/Observer States of OIC. The Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), COMCEC Coordination Office, the Ministry of Economy, the Ministry of Science, Industry and Technology and Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic Turkey were represented in the Meeting also in observer status. 
The GA decided to form the new BOD Members for the term of 2014 – 2016 from the Member States stated below:
1. Islamic Republic of AFGHANISTAN
2. Islamic Republic of IRAN
3. Islamic Republic of PAKISTAN
4. Republic of TURKEY
5. Hashemite Kingdom of JORDAN
6. Kingdom of SAUDI ARABIA
7. United Arab EMIRATES
8. People’s Democratic Republic of ALGERIA
9. Arab Republic of EGYPT
11. Republic of TUNISIA
12. Republic of CAMEROON
13. Republic of GUINEA