Standardization Management Council (SMC)

Standardization Management Council (SMC) is the organ assigned the task of development of OIC/SMIIC standards in cooperation with Member States.

SMC shall coordinate and oversee the performance of the Technical Committees.

SMC shall consist of a chair and 9 Member States appointed or elected by the Board of Directors, on the basis of an equitable geographic distribution, in accordance with the Rules of Procedure. The chair of SMC, which shall be one of the Vice-Chairmen of Board of Directors, shall be assigned by the Board of Directors. The secretary of SMC shall be appointed by Secretary General among the General Secretariat staff.

The method and principles of the administration of SMC shall be defined in Rules of Procedure. It shall operate according to a Terms of Reference document which shall be approved by the Board of Directors.

SMC performs standardization activities in the fields of product and service sector with special emphasis on Member States’ requirements and any other activity determined by the Board of Directors.

SMC shall constitute the Technical Committees as it might deem necessary in line with their work programs and fields of responsibility.

SMC shall prepare annual work plan in line with the SMIIC Strategic Plan and report the progress to the Board of Directors.

The new members of the SMIIC Standardization Management Council for the term 2018-2020 were determined with the Board of Directors Resolution 09/2017 of the 15th SMIIC Board of Directors Meeting which was held on 25 November 2017 in İstanbul, Turkey.

The members of SMIIC Standardization Management Council for the 2018-2020 term are as follows: 
1. People's Democratic Republic of ALGERIA
2. Republic of CAMEROON
3. Islamic Republic of IRAN
4. Repuclic of IRAQ
5. Hashemite Kingdom of JORDAN
6. Islamic Republic of PAKISTAN
7. Kingdom of SAUDI ARABIA
8. Republic of TURKEY
9. United Arab EMIRATES