United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) was set up in 1947 by ECOSOC.

UNECE's major aim is to promote pan-European economic integration. UNECE includes 56 member States in Europe, North America and Asia. However, all interested United Nations member States may participate in the work of UNECE. Over 70 international professional organizations and other non-governmental organizations take part in UNECE activities.

As a multilateral platform, UNECE facilitates greater economic integration and cooperation among its member countries and promotes sustainable development and economic prosperity through:

-policy dialogue,
-negotiation of international legal instruments,
-development of regulations and norms,
-exchange and application of best practices as well as economic and technical expertise,
-technical cooperation for countries with economies in transition.

UNECE contributes to enhancing the effectiveness of the United Nations through the regional implementation of outcomes of global United Nations Conferences and Summits. It gives focus to the United Nations global mandates in the economic field, in cooperation with other global players and key stakeholders, notably the business community.

UNECE also sets out norms, standards and conventions to facilitate international cooperation within and outside the region.
United Nations Economic Commission for Europe
UN Economic Commission for Europe Information Service

Palais des Nations
CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland

e-mail: unece_info@un.org