News & Events

12th SMIIC General Assembly Meeting

The Twelfth Meeting of the SMIIC General Assembly (GA) was held in Istanbul, the Republic of Turkey on 26th November 2017, hosted by the SMIIC General Secretariat.

The meeting was attended by the 23 SMIIC Member States, 2 Observers as well as the representatives of Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC), Islamic Center for Development of Trade (ICDT), Research Centre for Islamic History, Art and Culture (IRCICA), the Standing Committee for Economic and Commercial Cooperation of the Organization of the Islamic Cooperation (COMCEC), GCC Standardization Organization (GSO), Arab Industrial Development and Mining Organization (AIDMO). The representatives of State of Qatar and Republic of Uzbekistan attended the meeting as observers.

The opening address was made Mr. Sebahittin KORKMAZ, Chairman of BOD of SMIIC. The opening ceremony continued with a welcome speech delivered by The Minister of Ministry of Science, Industry and Technology, H.E. Dr. Faruk ÖZLÜ as the host country.

At the end of the opening session, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between SMIIC and GCC Standardization Organization (GSO).

During the meeting, SMIIC General Secretariat provided verbal information about its activities and future programs/actions, member of the Board of Directors Members for the 2018 – 2020 term was elected and Mr. İhsan ÖVÜT was re-elected unanimously as the Secretary General of SMIIC for the 2018 – 2020 term, with beginning on 01 January 2018 and ending on 31 December 2020. The annual mandatory contributions of Member States for the year 2018 were approved.

The thirteen (13) Member States elected to the Board of Directors for the 2018 – 2020 term, with beginning on 01 January 2018 and ending on 31 December 2020 (Including the host country) are as follows:

  1. Republic of CAMEROON
  2. Arab Republic of EGYPT
  3. Islamic Republic of IRAN
  4. Republic of IRAQ
  5. Hashemite Kingdom of JORDAN
  7. Kingdom of MOROCCO
  8. Islamic Republic of PAKISTAN
  9. Kingdom of SAUDI ARABIA
  10. Republic of SUDAN
  11. Republic of TUNISIA
  12. Republic of TURKEY (Permanent Member of the SMIIC Board of Directors)